Fellows for the 49th Silliman University National Writers Workshop


National Writers Workshop Director-in-Residence Rowena Tiempo Torrevillas, the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, and Silliman University are pleased to announce that the following young writers have been accepted as fellows for the 49th National Writers Workshop scheduled on 3-21 May 2010:

For Poetry

Gian Paolo Simeon Lao (Ateneo de Manila University)
Dominique Allison Santos (University of Santo Tomas)
Jacob Dominguez (University of Santo Tomas)
Oscar Serquina Jr. (University of the Philippines-Diliman)

For Fiction

Aaron James Jalalon (University of the Philippines–Mindanao)
Jenette Ethel Vizcocho (University of the Philippines-Diliman)
Gilda Ysobel Galang (Ateneo de Manila University)
Anne Carly Abad (Ateneo de Manila University)
Gino Francis Dizon (Ateneo de Manila University)
Jose Carlo Flordeliza (De La Salle University)
Ida Anita Del Mundo (De La Salle University)
Samantha Echavez (University of the Philippines-Diliman)

For Creative Non-Fiction

Kelly Marie Tulio Conlon (University of the Philippine–Mindanao)
Miro Frances Capili (University of the Philippines-Diliman)
Christina Mae del Rosario (Ateneo de Manila University)

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Fellows for the 10th IYAS Creative Writing Workshop

The IYAS Creative Writing Workshop proudly announces its roster of Fellows for 2010.

The Fellows for Fiction in English are: Fred Jordan Carnice, Roselle Jimeno, Vernan Jagunap, Francis Dizon and Anne Carly Abad (English), and Arbeen Acuña (Filipino).

The Fellows for Poetry are: Gian-Paolo Lao, Alyza Mary Taguilaso, Charmaine Carreon (English), Arbeen Acuña, Noel Fortun, Rogerick Fernandez (Filipino), Paul Randy Gumanao, Glenn Muñez (Cebuano), Elsed Togonon (Kinaray-a) and Simplicio Gadugdug (Boholano).

The panelists for this year are Dr. Dinah Roma-Sianturi, Dr. Elsie Coscolluela, Dr. Genevieve Asenjo, Dr. Danilo M. Reyes, Dr. Anthony Tan and Prof. John Iremil Teodoro.

The IYAS Creative Writing Workshop is sponsored by the University of St. La Salle and the Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center of De La Salle University and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts.

The 10th IYAS Creative Writing Workshop is set on April 25- May 1, 2010.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Fellows for the 2010 Davao Writers Workshop

The Davao Writers Guild, in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and University of the Philippines-Mindanao, proudly announces the Fellows for the Davao Writers Workshop 2010:

Short Story
April Dawn M. Paramio
Arvin Antonio V. Ortiz
Freeda Ko Quejada
Jayson E Parba

Ella Jade Ismael
Seneca Pellano

Hiyasmin Gabriela Espejo

Erika Navaja
Friedrich Simon C Layno
Gino Boy Dolorzo
Iryne O. Kaamino
James Roy C. Pascual
Reymond L Pepito

The workshop will take place on May 3 to 7 at Lispher Inn, Juna Subdivision, Matina, Davao City.


  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Davao Writers Workshop 2010

Davao Writers Workshop 2010

The Davao Writers Guild, in cooperation with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, will hold a Writers Workshop on May 3 to 7, 2010. Deadline for application is April 9, 2010.

Who may apply

Fifteen writing fellows will be selected for the workshop. Applicants must be residents of Davao and Mindanao.
Only two slots are alloted to fellows within Mindanao but residing outside Davao. They will receive transportation allowance of up to P1,000.
Fellows will receive free board and lodging for the duration of the workshop.
Past fellows of the Davao Writers Workshop are not eligible to apply for the workshop. However, they may volunteer to help run the workshop.


We will accept submissions in four categories: fiction, essay, poetry and one-act play. They may be in English, Bisaya, or Tagalog.
Applicant portfolios must therefore contain:
  • 2 short stories (1,000 words to 5,000 words); OR
  • 2 essays (1,000 words to 5,000 words); OR
  • 2 one-act play (10 minutes to 30 minutes play time); OR
  • 3 poems
All entries must be original works by the applicant.

How to Apply

Please complete the application form and attach your workshop submissions.
Please also submit 3 hard copies of the pieces, and formatted according to following specifications:
  • Printed on short-sized bond paper (8.5″ x 11″)
  • 1″ margin on all sides
  • Font: Times Roman 12
  • Double spaced with 0.5″ indent for the start of all paragraphs.
Applicants must also send hard copies in an envelope together with cover letter to
Dominique Gerald M. Cimafranca
Deputy Workshop Director
c/o Davao Union Drug
(beside Electroworld)
CM Recto St. cor. Jacinto Ext.
Davao City

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS


a life beyond..
Disengaged Delight.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS

Chasm of Infinity

There is bitterness in bliss.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS